

Summons to and Agenda for a Special Honorary Aldermen County Council Meeting on Thursday, 28th March, 2024 at 10.00 am



DEMOCRATIC SERVICES SESSIONS HOUSE MAIDSTONE

Wednesday, 20 March 2024

To: All Members of the County Council

A meeting of the County Council will be held in the Council Chamber, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent, ME14 1XQ on Thursday, 28th March, 2024 at **10.00 am** to deal with the following business. The meeting will be followed by the Ordinary County Council meeting.

AGENDA

- 1. Apologies for Absence
- 2. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda
- 3. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

(Pages 1 - 4)

Benjamin Watts General Counsel 03000 416814



By: Roger Gough – Leader of the Council

Benjamin Watts, General Counsel

To: County Council – 28 March 2024

Subject: Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

Introduction

(1) At its meeting on 30 April 2009, the County Council resolved to utilise the power contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, to confer the award of Honorary Alderman to recognise the eminent services of some of its distinguished former Members. There is no statutory definition of "eminent services", but the County Council agreed that the award should only be made to former Members who had served at least 12 years and had rendered eminent services in terms of the individual's contribution to the activities of the County Council and the well-being of the County of Kent.

(2) Honorary Aldermen are invited to attend relevant civic and ceremonial events, including the Annual Meeting of the Council and the Chairman's Civic Reception. The names of those individuals awarded the status of Honorary Alderman are included on the wooden honours board in the Council Chamber.

Nominations

- (3) Four Members have been nominated to receive this Honorary Award in 2024. They are:
 - Mrs Valerie Dagger
 - Dr Mike Eddy
 - Mr Graham Gibbens
 - Mr Michael Northey

(4) Mrs Valarie Dagger

Mrs Valarie Dagger was elected to the County Council as Member for Malling Rural West (now known as Malling West) in 2001. Mrs Dagger was Chairman of the School Organisation Advisory Board and Vice-Chairman of the Adult Social Care and Public Health Policy Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

Mrs Dagger served on many committees including the Adult Social Care and Health Cabinet Committee, Adult Social Services Policy Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Children's Champion Board, Children's Social Care and Health Cabinet Committee, Education Cabinet Committee, Governor Appointments Panel, Local Strategic Partnership (KCC representative), Planning Applications Committee, Regulation Committee and Social Care and Public Health Cabinet Committee. She was also a Member of the Carers in Kent Select Committee.

(5) Dr Mike Eddy

Dr Mike Eddy was elected to the County Council as Member for Deal in 1997 – 2009 and then again in 2013 – 2017. Dr Eddy was leader of the Labour Group and Leader of the Opposition between 2005 and 2009.

Dr Eddy was Chairman of the Cabinet Scrutiny Committee and served on the Environment, Highways and Waste Cabinet Committee, Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Kent and Medway NHS Joint Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Kent and Medway Police and Crime Panel, Kent Flood Risk and Water Management Committee, Policy Overview Co-ordinating Committee and Selection and Member Services Committee.

(6) Mr Graham Gibbens

Mr Graham Gibbens was elected to the County Council as Member for Canterbury City North in 2001. Mr Gibbens was Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Public Health from 2008 until he was elected Vice-Chairman of the Council in 2019.

Mr Gibbens was Chairman of the Electoral and Boundary Review Committee and served on the Kent Health and Wellbeing Board, Kent and Medway Joint Health and Wellbeing Board and Canterbury Local Board and Kent Forum.

Mr Gibbens was elected Chairman of the Council for 2020-2021.

(7) Mr Michael Northey

Mr Michael Northey was elected to the County Council as Member for Canterbury South East in 2005 and following boundary changes Canterbury South in 2017 - 2021. Mr Northey was Deputy Cabinet Member for three different portfolios:

- Corporate Support Services and Performance Management
- Children, Young People and Education (CYPE)
- Environment

Mr Northey served on many committees, including Adult Social Care Cabinet Committee, Cabinet Scrutiny Committee, CYPE Cabinet Committee, Communities Cabinet Committee, Corporate Parenting Panel, Environment & Transport Cabinet Committee, Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee and several Select Committees as well as being Chairman of the Children, Families and Education – Learning and Development Policy Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

Mr Northey was Vice-Chairman of the Council for 2020-2021.

(8) Members are reminded that, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the nominees for Honorary Aldermen have to receive the support of not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a special meeting of the County Council convened for the purpose.

Recommendation

(9) The County Council is invited to consider those Members nominated for the award of Honorary Alderman of Kent County Council.

Joel Cook – Democratic Services Manager 03000 416892 Joel.cook@kent.gov.uk

Benjamin Watts, General Counsel 03000 416814 benjamin.watts@kent.gov.uk

